Data cum customer care centre of power department inaugurated in Srinagar

Srinagar: Chief Minister Omar Abdullah inaugurated data centre and round the clock customer care centre of Power Development Department in Jammu and Kashmir’s summer capital Srinagar this morning.

Giving details about the new initiate, an official statement mentioned, “Any consumer can ascertain details of his bills and payments. He can obtain duplicate bills; enquire about the cause of shut down, repairs to transformers, registration of new connections and all details about the supply and distribution of power in his area”. The statement added that the 24×7 call centre will be available to the general public for lodging power supply related complaints and redressing the grievances thereof. The toll free contact number of the customer care centre is 1800-180-7666.

In a presentation, the Chief Minister was given detailed account of the functioning of the Data-cum – Customer Care Centre of PDD and its benefits to the public.

The Data Centre at Bemina executed by JKPCC has involved an amount of over Rs. 8.50 crore. The Centre is on 9304 square feet with 3080 square feet plinth area. The main building comprises of ground and three floors. It houses Centralized Consumer Care and State wide 24×7 Help Desk, Server Frame with 54 services for customer care. The complex also houses Computer Software Units, Power Sub-Station, Safety Facilities, Data Centre with 45 High-end Services and Customer Care Centre which is situated in the ground floor for the convenience of the customers.

The Chief Minister directed the Power Development Department to involve Khidmat Centres in the programme so that people other than internet users take best advantage of the Data-cum-24×7 Customer Care Centre of PDD. He said Khidmat Centre Operators should be trained and briefed about this programme so that they render required help to the people. He stressed on making Customer Call Centre more robust and active. He also directed for giving publicity to the facility launched for public good.

It was stated on the occasion that the project area coverage with a population of 10,000 and more as per Census 2011 are covered under the programme which constitutes four parts, the Part-A relates to improvement and establishment of base-line data by employing system metering and using IT applications for energy accounting and auditing. Part-B includes regular distribution strengthening projects and Part-C deals with capacity building and trainings while the Part-D relates to third party independent evaluation.

Besides two Cities of Jammu and Srinagar, 11 Towns in Jammu and 19 Towns in Kashmir have been identified as project areas under R-APDRP. The towns are Anantnag, Budgam, Bandipora, Baramulla, Bijbehara, Dooru, Ganderbal, Handwara, Kargil, Kulgam, Kupwara, Leh, Pattan, Pulwama, Shopian, Sopore, Srinagar, Sumbal, Tral in Kashmir Division and Akhnoor, Bhaderwah, Doda, Jammu, Kathua, Kishtwar, Poonch, Rajouri, R.S.Pora, Samba and Udhampur in Jammu Division are being benefited under the programme. The programme will facilitate 2,56,679 consumers in Kashmir Division and 2,37,002 in Jammu Division.

Chief Minister Omar Abdullah  said that while scores of newly started power generation projects in the State are set to catapult energy scenario in the State and help achieve the goal of self-reliance in electricity needs in near future, the initiatives taken to upgrade and smoothen power supply and service delivery will also broad base the customer care of the Power Development Department.

Omar Abdullah said that the special drive launched by the government to ensure substantial increase in power generation in the State by launching and approving mega, small and micro hydel projects in the State sector, IPP and PPP mode will yield fruit in next some years benefitting not only the domestic and industrial consumers but transforming Jammu and Kashmir from power deficit area to energy surplus State.

The Chief Minister said that the completion of the Centre is a landmark achievement of the programme under implementation in the State under Re-structured Accelerated Power Development Reforms Programme (R-APDRP) to tone up the power supply system in two Cities and 28 Towns of the State.